Dentist Salary Nigeria 2026: CONMESS Pay, Private Practice & Specialist Earnings
Dentist salary in Nigeria 2026 on the CONMESS scale: ₦263K–1.23M+ monthly. House officer to consultant dental surgeon pay, private dental practice income, and specialist earnings explained.
By Dr. Jethro Magaji
Duration
7 MINSQuick Answer
Dentists (dental surgeons) in Nigeria are paid on the CONMESS salary structure — the same scale as medical doctors — earning approximately ₦263,000–₦1,230,000+ monthly in government. A dental house officer on CONMESS 1 earns ~₦263,000, a dental officer on CONMESS 2 earns ~₦380,000, and a consultant dental surgeon on the consultant grades, CONMESS 5–7, earns about ₦730,000–₦1,230,000+ (usually employed on CONMESS 6, about ₦1,020,000–₦1,150,000). Private dental practice — especially cosmetic, orthodontic and implant work — can push earnings to ₦1M–₦5M+ monthly.
Note: Government figures are representative approximations of the CONMESS scale published by the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission (NSIWC); the current table (effective 29 July 2024) has not yet been transcribed on our CONMESS page. Grade placements marked † are reported by practitioners, not stated in a circular. Private figures are industry estimates.
The Real Earner Is a Great Private Practice
Why dentists are paid on CONMESS (like doctors)
Unlike other health workers, dental surgeons are paid on CONMESS, not CONHESS. That places dentists on the same well-paid scale as medical doctors — significantly above nurses, pharmacists and lab scientists. (Dental therapists and technologists, however, are paid on CONHESS.) See the full CONMESS structure and its CONMESS by cadre table, which maps each medical and dental title to its grade.
Dentist salary by career stage (CONMESS 2026)
| Stage | CONMESS Level | Monthly (Govt) | Monthly (Private) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dental House Officer | CONMESS 1† | ₦263,000–₦338,000 | ₦300,000–₦400,000 |
| Dental Officer | CONMESS 2† | ₦380,000–₦460,000 | ₦450,000–₦600,000 |
| Junior Registrar (Dental) | CONMESS 3† (CONMESS 2 in some institutions) | ₦475,000–₦590,000 | — |
| Senior Registrar (Dental) | CONMESS 4–5† | ₦562,000–₦885,000 | — |
| Consultant (usual entry grade) | CONMESS 6† | ₦1,020,000–₦1,150,000 | ₦1.3M–₦1.9M |
| Consultant grades | CONMESS 5–7 | ₦730,000–₦1,230,000+ | ₦950,000–₦2.3M |
| Private Dental Practice | N/A | N/A | ₦1M–₦5M+ |
† Grade placement reported by practitioners (a consultant pathologist, September 2026), not stated in an NSIWC circular; it varies by institution. The circular does state that the consultants' specialist allowance is paid on CONMESS 5–7 only. Government figures are approximations of the current CONMESS table. Private figures for the registrar grades are left blank until re-estimated against the corrected grades.
Basic + typical allowances. Call duty, hazard and specialist allowances are added on top.
Dental specialties and earnings
In government, all consultants earn the same CONMESS rate regardless of specialty. In private practice, earnings vary widely by procedure mix:
- Orthodontics (braces, aligners) — high recurring revenue
- Implantology — high per-case value (₦300,000–₦1.5M+ per implant case)
- Cosmetic dentistry (veneers, whitening) — premium, cash-pay demand
- Oral & maxillofacial surgery — complex, high-value cases
- Endodontics / Prosthodontics — steady specialist demand
Cosmetic and implant-focused private clinics in Lagos, Abuja and Port Harcourt are among the highest-earning dental practices.
Private dental practice: the real income driver
Government pay is a floor. The biggest dentist earnings come from private practice, where procedure-based, often cash-pay revenue scales with patient volume and case mix. Running an efficient clinic is what separates a good month from a great one — appointment flow, recalls, and billing all matter.
A modern, affordable all-in-one platform like ClinikEHR helps Nigerian dental practices manage patient records, scheduling, recalls and billing without enterprise cost — see Best EMR for Private Clinics in Nigeria and Best Guide to Setting Up a Private Clinic in Nigeria.
How dentists increase income
- Complete residency to consultant (each CONMESS promotion is a 16–40% basic-pay jump on our approximate figures)
- Build a private practice with a high-value procedure mix (implants, ortho, cosmetic)
- Add cosmetic/implant skills through CPD and fellowships
- Locum and weekend clinics for extra cash flow
Frequently Asked Questions
1. How much does a dentist earn in Nigeria?
Dentists earn approximately ₦263,000–₦1,230,000+ monthly in government on the CONMESS scale. House officers earn ~₦263,000, dental officers ~₦380,000, and consultants about ₦730,000–₦1,230,000+ on CONMESS 5–7 (usually ₦1,020,000+ on CONMESS 6). Private practice can reach ₦1M–₦5M+ monthly.
2. Are dentists on CONMESS or CONHESS?
Dental surgeons are paid on CONMESS — the same scale as medical doctors. Dental therapists and dental technologists, by contrast, are paid on CONHESS.
3. Do dentists earn the same as doctors in Nigeria?
At the government level, yes — dental surgeons and medical doctors share the CONMESS scale, so pay is essentially identical grade-for-grade. Private earnings differ by specialty and procedure mix.
4. Which dental work pays the most?
In private practice, implantology, orthodontics and cosmetic dentistry are the highest earners due to high per-case value and cash-pay demand.
5. How long does it take to become a dentist in Nigeria?
A BDS degree takes about 5–6 years, followed by housemanship and NYSC. Becoming a consultant dental surgeon requires a further 4–6 years of residency.
Conclusion
Dentists enjoy one of the strongest pay positions in Nigerian healthcare — the CONMESS scale (shared with doctors) plus exceptional private-practice upside in cosmetic, orthodontic and implant work. Benchmark your government pay on the CONMESS structure, and remember the real earnings lever is an efficient private practice.
Disclaimer: Government salary figures are representative approximations of the CONMESS scale published by the NSIWC; the current table (effective 29 July 2024) has not yet been transcribed here. Grade placements marked † are reported by practitioners, not stated in a circular. Private figures are industry estimates. Actual pay varies by employer, step, allowances, deductions and location. Verify with NSIWC or your employer's HR. For informational purposes only; not professional advice. ClinikEHR and its authors are not liable for decisions made based on this information.
Related Articles
- Healthcare Salaries in Nigeria 2027: Every Cadre Compared
- CONMESS Salary Structure 2026: Full Step-by-Step Scale
- Doctor Salary Nigeria 2026: CONMESS Guide
- Medical Consultant Salary Nigeria 2026
- Doctor vs Nurse Salary in Nigeria 2026
- Best Guide to Setting Up a Private Clinic in Nigeria
- Best EMR for Private Clinics in Nigeria
Run a Modern Dental Practice in Nigeria
Stay in the loop
Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest updates on healthcare technology, HIPAA compliance, and exclusive content delivered straight to your inbox.