EHR Comparison

Alma vs ClinikEHR 2027: Insurance Network vs Your Own Practice System — Which Do You Need?

Alma is an insurance network whose membership includes clinical tools. ClinikEHR is the system for your own practice. What each includes, what it costs, and when you need both.

Back to Intelligence
Share This Dispatch

Quick Answer: ClinikEHR vs Alma

Both give you clinical tools, but they do different jobs. Alma is a membership-based insurance network for therapists: it credentials you, bills insurance, pays you weekly and, according to its provider page, includes "AI-assisted notes, HIPAA-compliant telehealth, treatment planning, assessments" in the membership. ClinikEHR is the system for your own practice: private-pay and any-payer clients, your own booking page and brand, CRM, clinic email, email marketing, AI agents and plans for several staff.

Choose Alma if you want:

  • Insurance clients without credentialing and billing them yourself
  • Multi-state credentialing, weekly payouts and automated eligibility checks
  • Notes, telehealth, treatment planning and assessments included in a $50/month membership
  • A therapist community with professional development

Choose ClinikEHR if you want:

  • ✅ Your own booking page, deposits, packages, memberships and online store
  • ✅ CRM, clinic email (ClinikMail), email marketing (ClinikReach) and AI agents in one account
  • ✅ AI clinical notes (included for 3 clinicians on Essential, 5 on Team)
  • ✅ A practice with several staff (3 included on Essential, 5 on Team)
  • ✅ E-prescribing and lab orders as paid add-ons
  • ✅ A Free plan that needs no card

Often the answer is both: insurance clients through Alma, private-pay clients in ClinikEHR. But Alma says it will help you manage "all of your clients — whether they come to you through Alma or not", so if all you need is notes, telehealth and insurance billing, Alma on its own may be enough.

Run Your Own Practice

ClinikEHR gives your own practice notes, scheduling, telehealth, a booking page, CRM, clinic email and marketing in one account. Start with our Free plan, or try Essential for $29.90 for your first 30 days.
Get Started Free →
★★★★★4.9/5 Rating
No credit card required to start

Understanding the Difference

What is Alma?

Alma is a membership-based insurance network for therapists. Its provider page (checked September 2026) says membership includes:

  • "multi-state credentialing, weekly payouts, automated eligibility checks", with access to "112M+ covered lives"
  • "AI-assisted notes, HIPAA-compliant telehealth, treatment planning, assessments"
  • "Admin and caseload management support"
  • "Community and professional development"

Alma's fee model: a flat membership of "$50/month", or "$1,140 Only $600 for the first year" on annual billing. Alma doesn't take a percentage of your cash-pay sessions. In its own words: "We charge a monthly fee for membership that gives you access to all of Alma's benefits. The income from your cash-pay clients stays with you." The page doesn't say how the rates for insurance sessions are set, so ask Alma for the rates for your license, state and payers.

What Alma's provider page doesn't mention: a booking page under your own brand, a CRM, email marketing, e-prescribing, memberships or a store. That doesn't prove Alma lacks them, only that we couldn't confirm them.

What is ClinikEHR?

ClinikEHR is the practice management and EHR system for your own practice:

  • AI clinical notes (SOAP, DAP, BIRP), included for your first 3 clinicians on Essential and 5 on Team (not on the Free plan)
  • Scheduling, an online booking page, reminders, waitlists and group sessions
  • Telehealth: 5 links a month on Free, 100 a month on Essential
  • Client portal, intake forms, e-signatures, treatment planners and measurement-based care
  • Insurance claims to payers you're contracted with: 35 free electronic claims a month on Essential, then $0.35 each (Team: 50 free, then $0.25)
  • Card payments (1.9% platform fee + Stripe's 2.9% + $0.30), deposits, packages, memberships and an online store
  • CRM, ClinikMail, ClinikReach and AI Agent Studio
  • E-prescribing ($49/month per clinician + $99 setup) and E-Lab ($6 per request + $500 setup) as paid add-ons

What ClinikEHR is NOT:

  • Not an insurance network: it doesn't credential you or bill on your behalf
  • Not a client directory or referral service
  • Not a therapist community

Side-by-Side Comparison

FeatureClinikEHRAlma
TypeEHR and practice system for your own practiceInsurance network with clinical tools for members
PriceFree $0; Essential $99.90/mo; Team $250/mo$50/month; $600 for the first year billed annually (listed at $1,140/year)
Cut of cash-pay sessions1.9% platform fee on card payments (plus Stripe's 2.9% + $0.30)None: "The income from your cash-pay clients stays with you"
Clinical notes✅ AI notes (Essential and Team)✅ "AI-assisted notes"
Treatment plans and assessments✅ Treatment planners, measurement-based care✅ "treatment planning, assessments"
Telehealth✅ 5 links/mo on Free, 100/mo on Essential✅ "HIPAA-compliant telehealth"
Scheduling✅ Calendar, online booking, reminders, waitlists"Admin and caseload management support" (details not stated)
Insurance billingYou submit claims to payers you're contracted with✅ Alma bills insurance, with "weekly payouts"
Credentialing❌ Not offered✅ "multi-state credentialing"
Client referrals❌ No directory; your own booking page, CRM and marketing instead✅ Network access ("112M+ covered lives")
Own brand and booking page✅ Yes (custom domains on Team)Not stated
CRM, clinic email, email marketing, AI agents✅ Included, within plan limitsNot stated
E-prescribingPaid add-onNot stated
Memberships and store✅ YesNot stated
Community❌ Not offered✅ "Community and professional development"

Alma's column quotes helloalma.com/for-providers, checked September 2026.


Detailed Feature Comparison

Clinical Documentation

ClinikEHR:

  • AI Note Taker drafts SOAP, DAP and BIRP notes from the session
  • Included for 3 clinicians on Essential and 5 on Team; $20/month for each extra clinician
  • Custom note templates, treatment planners and measurement-based care
  • HIPAA-compliant storage

Alma:

  • Membership includes "AI-assisted notes", "treatment planning" and "assessments"
  • Note formats and template options aren't described on the provider page

Winner: Neither on the basics. Both include AI-assisted notes. Use the system that holds the client's record: Alma for clients you see through Alma, ClinikEHR for your own clients.

Appointment Scheduling and Booking

ClinikEHR:

  • Full calendar and an online booking page for your practice
  • Deposits, late-cancellation fees, packages, gift cards and promo codes on online bookings
  • Reminders by email (text and voice need a US/Canada number, $15/month)
  • Group sessions with waitlists
  • Calendar sync with Google and Outlook (Essential and Team)

Alma:

  • "Admin and caseload management support"
  • Booking and calendar features aren't described on the provider page

Winner: ClinikEHR if you want a branded booking page for private-pay clients. Alma's page doesn't describe one.

Telehealth

ClinikEHR:

  • Built-in video visits, linked to scheduling and notes
  • Screen sharing and session recording
  • 5 telehealth links a month on Free, 100 a month on Essential

Alma:

  • "HIPAA-compliant telehealth" included in the membership

Winner: Tie. Both include telehealth.

Insurance Billing and Credentialing

ClinikEHR:

  • Eligibility checks and electronic claims to payers you're contracted with
  • 35 free claims a month on Essential, then $0.35 each; 50 free on Team, then $0.25
  • Eligibility checks at $0.20 each on Essential, included on Team
  • You handle credentialing yourself

Alma:

  • "multi-state credentialing"
  • Alma bills insurance, with "automated eligibility checks" and "weekly payouts"
  • The rate you're paid per insurance session isn't published on the page

Winner: Alma, if you want someone else to credential you and handle insurance. ClinikEHR only helps if you're already contracted with payers.

Client Acquisition

ClinikEHR:

  • No client directory or referral network
  • Your own booking page, CRM, ClinikReach email campaigns and AI agents to bring in and keep your own clients

Alma:

  • Access to "112M+ covered lives" through Alma's insurance network

Winner: Alma for insurance referrals. ClinikEHR for building a private-pay pipeline under your own name.

E-Prescribing and Labs

ClinikEHR:

  • E-prescribing as a paid add-on ($49/month per clinician + $99 setup)
  • E-Lab ordering as a paid add-on ($6 per request + $500 setup)

Alma:

  • Not mentioned on the provider page

Winner: ClinikEHR if you prescribe, as a paid add-on. Most talk therapists won't need either.


Pricing Comparison

ClinikEHR Pricing

  • Free: $0. Up to 50 clients and 2 staff, 5 telehealth links a month, no AI notes. No card needed.
  • Essential: $99.90/month, or $960/year billed annually. 3 staff included, AI notes for 3 clinicians, 100 telehealth links a month, 35 free e-claims a month.
  • Team: $250/month, or $2,400/year billed annually. 5 staff included, AI notes for 5 clinicians, 50 free e-claims a month.
  • Paid add-ons: e-prescribing, PDMP, E-Lab, and a US/Canada number for text and voice.
  • Card payments: a 1.9% ClinikEHR platform fee plus Stripe's 2.9% + $0.30.

Alma Pricing

  • Membership: "$50/month", or "$1,140 Only $600 for the first year" on annual billing (helloalma.com/for-providers, checked September 2026)
  • Cash-pay sessions: no cut. "The income from your cash-pay clients stays with you."
  • Insurance sessions: the page doesn't say how rates are set. Ask Alma for the rates for your license, state and payers.

The $50/month figure may itself be an introductory rate; Alma's page doesn't state a regular monthly price.

What a Solo Therapist Pays in Year One

SetupYear-one cost
Alma only (annual)$600
ClinikEHR only$0 on Free; $960 on Essential billed annually ($1,198.80 paid monthly)
Alma + ClinikEHR Free$600
Alma + ClinikEHR Essential (annual)$1,560

From year two, at Alma's listed $1,140 a year, Alma plus Essential billed annually comes to $2,100.

On list price, Alma costs less than ClinikEHR's Essential plan for one clinician. Essential covers 3 staff and adds the business tools Alma's page doesn't mention. If all your clients come through Alma, Alma alone is the cheaper choice.

Start Your Own Practice for Free

Keep your network clients where they are and run your private-pay clients in ClinikEHR. Start with our Free plan, or try Essential for $29.90 for your first 30 days.
See Pricing →
★★★★★4.9/5 Rating
No credit card required to start

Can You Use Both Together?

Yes. Alma itself says it will help you manage clients "whether they come to you through Alma or not", so you don't have to use both. Using both makes sense when you're building a private-pay practice under your own name alongside your Alma caseload.

How It Works:

  1. Use Alma for:

    • Insurance credentialing and billing
    • Clients who come to you through Alma, including their notes and telehealth sessions
    • Weekly payouts and community
  2. Use ClinikEHR for:

    • Private-pay clients, booked through your own booking page
    • Deposits, packages, memberships and your store
    • CRM, ClinikMail, ClinikReach and AI agents
    • Other staff in your practice

Workflow:

  • Keep each client's record in one system: the one that bills for them
  • Sync calendars through Google Calendar or Outlook, so a booking in one blocks the time in the other (calendar sync is on Essential and Team)
  • Grow your private-pay list with your booking page and ClinikReach campaigns

Total cost: Alma's membership plus your ClinikEHR plan. That's $600 in year one with ClinikEHR's Free plan, or $1,560 with Essential billed annually.


Beyond the EHR: AI Agents, ClinikMail and ClinikReach

A practice runs on more than charts. It needs an inbox, a way to bring patients back, and someone to chase the follow-ups nobody has time for. Most practices buy those separately — an email host, an email-marketing tool, an automation service — and connect them by hand. In ClinikEHR they're part of the same account, on the same patient record, under the same access rules.

AI Agent Studio: automation you build without code

  • What agents do: appointment reminders, confirmations, reschedules, no-show follow-ups and waitlist fills across email, SMS and voice, plus intake, consent, CRM follow-ups, patient summaries and claims preparation
  • How you build them: a drag-and-drop canvas (Start, Agent, Tool, Logic, Data, Human approval, End) with templates to start from — test a draft, then publish a versioned agent, no engineers needed
  • Safe with patient data: patient data is de-identified before any model sees it, requests go only to BAA-covered, zero-retention model endpoints, every run is audited, and risky actions (sending PHI, submitting a claim, charging a card) wait for a human approval
  • Your choice of model: Claude, GPT or Gemini, chosen per agent
  • What it costs: each successful run uses credits, and every plan includes monthly credits — 50 on Free, 2,500 on Essential, 5,000 on Team — with per-agent budgets so there's no surprise bill (text and voice need a dedicated number, US/Canada, $15/month)

Explore AI Agent Studio →

ClinikMail: clinic email on your own domain, linked to the chart

  • Real mailboxes on your clinic's domain, set up with a guided DNS wizard — or a clinikmail.com address that's ready immediately
  • Shared inboxes like reception@ with thread assignment, so two people never answer the same patient
  • Link a thread to a patient and it lands on their timeline, next to the chart it belongs to
  • Mail is private to your clinic, behind two-factor sign-in, with every read written to the audit trail
  • A spam filter that shows its reasons; uncertain mail is delivered with a caution label instead of hidden
  • Works with Gmail, Apple Mail or Outlook over IMAP, with a separate, revocable app password per device
  • Included: 3 mailboxes and 5 GB on Free; 25 mailboxes, 50 GB and 3 custom domains on Essential; 50 mailboxes, 120 GB and 10 custom domains on Team

Explore ClinikMail →

ClinikReach: email marketing measured in booked appointments

  • Recall campaigns, newsletters and welcome journeys built from your own patient and contact list — for example, everyone not seen in 18 months
  • Consent handled the way clinics need: you choose whether a send is a newsletter, a patient recall or a promotion, it's recorded on the campaign, and unsubscribes are honoured at the moment of sending
  • Send stays locked until a checklist is complete — audience, sender, subject, unsubscribe link, working links, filled merge tags and a test to your own inbox
  • Reports lead with how many people booked an appointment afterwards, not with opens
  • Contacts are unlimited on every plan; you're metered only on sends — 500 a month on Free, 12,000 on Essential, 60,000 on Team

Explore ClinikReach →

What this means for your comparison

Alma is a network that fills your caseload and bills insurance for you; it isn't built to run your own clinic's inbox, recall campaigns or automations. If you build a private-pay practice alongside Alma, these are the tools you'll need — and in ClinikEHR they come with the plan.

Who Should Choose Each?

Choose ClinikEHR If You:

  • See mostly private-pay clients, or bill payers you're contracted with directly
  • Want your own booking page and brand
  • Run a practice with several staff
  • Want AI agents, clinic email (ClinikMail) and email marketing (ClinikReach) in the same account as your EHR
  • Sell memberships, packages or products
  • Prescribe and need e-prescribing (paid add-on)
  • Want to start on a free plan

Choose Alma If You:

  • Want to take insurance without doing credentialing and billing yourself
  • Want notes, telehealth, treatment planning and assessments included in one membership
  • Want weekly payouts
  • Value a therapist community and professional development
  • Are a solo clinician and $50/month is your whole software budget

Use Both If You:

  • Take insurance clients through Alma and private-pay clients on your own
  • Want to build your own brand while keeping Alma's network
  • Plan to move towards a private-pay practice over time
  • Can keep each client's record in one system

Alternative: ClinikEHR Only

If you're private-pay only, or already contracted directly with the payers you bill, you may not need a network at all. ClinikEHR covers:

  • AI clinical notes (Essential and Team)
  • Scheduling, online booking and reminders
  • Telehealth
  • Client portal and intake forms
  • Electronic claims (35 free a month on Essential, then $0.35 each)
  • Card payments, memberships and a store
  • CRM, ClinikMail, ClinikReach and AI agents
  • E-prescribing and E-Lab as paid add-ons

Cost: $0 on Free, or $960 a year on Essential billed annually. That's more than Alma's $600 first year. What you give up is Alma's credentialing, insurance billing and network. What you get is a practice under your own name.


Frequently Asked Questions

1. Is Alma free?

No. Alma charges a membership: "$50/month", or $600 for the first year on annual billing (listed at $1,140 a year), per helloalma.com in September 2026. It doesn't take a cut of cash-pay sessions: "The income from your cash-pay clients stays with you." The page doesn't say how insurance session rates are set, so ask Alma.

2. Can ClinikEHR help with insurance credentialing?

No. ClinikEHR doesn't credential you. It keeps each clinician's NPI, DEA and license numbers on file and submits electronic claims to payers you're contracted with (35 free a month on Essential, then $0.35 each). If you want someone else to credential you and bill insurance, that's what Alma does.

3. Does ClinikEHR integrate with Alma?

There's no direct integration. You can sync both calendars through Google Calendar or Outlook, so a booking in one blocks the time in the other (calendar sync is on Essential and Team). Keep each client's clinical record in the system that bills for them.

4. Which is better for new therapists?

If you want insurance clients quickly, Alma gives you credentialing, billing and clinical tools in one membership. If you're starting a private-pay practice, ClinikEHR's Free plan (up to 50 clients and 2 staff) costs nothing. Many therapists start with both.

5. Can I get client referrals with ClinikEHR?

ClinikEHR doesn't have a client directory. It gives you the tools to bring in your own clients: a booking page, a CRM, ClinikReach email campaigns and AI agents that follow up on enquiries.

6. Does Alma provide an EHR?

Alma's membership includes clinical tools. Its provider page lists "AI-assisted notes, HIPAA-compliant telehealth, treatment planning, assessments" and "Admin and caseload management support", and says Alma will help you manage clients "whether they come to you through Alma or not". The page doesn't describe the business tools ClinikEHR adds: your own booking page, CRM, clinic email, email marketing, AI agents, memberships and a store.

7. Can I use ClinikEHR for private pay only?

Absolutely. Many ClinikEHR users do private pay only and never deal with insurance.

8. What if I want to leave Alma later?

Alma's provider page doesn't describe cancellation terms or what happens to payer contracts when you leave. Before you join, ask Alma whether credentialing arranged through it stays with you. If you move clients into ClinikEHR, you can import them by CSV on Essential and Team.

9. Is ClinikEHR HIPAA-compliant?

Yes. ClinikEHR is fully HIPAA-compliant with BAA agreements, encryption, and regular security audits. Learn more about our HIPAA compliance.

10. Can I try ClinikEHR before committing?

Yes. ClinikEHR's Free plan needs no credit card and has no time limit. A 30-day trial of the Essential plan is also available for $29.90, card required.


Related Reading

EHR Comparisons:

Practice Management:

AI & Documentation:

External Resources:

Stay in the loop

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest updates on healthcare technology, HIPAA compliance, and exclusive content delivered straight to your inbox.

Weekly updates
Healthcare insights
HIPAA updates
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Join over 100,000 healthcare professionals

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.